Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 p.m. - 2005-11-30
good bye great-grandma
Dearest Lucian,

Hi baby. I had written a long letter to you yesterday, explaining a little about me, but the internet died at work, and I lost the whole thing. Today, I feel I must write to you to let you know that your great-grandmother died in her sleep last night. She didn't know you very long, but she loved you dearly. She made a quilt for you, which she gave to you at thanksgiving last thursday. I have bundled you in it everyday since then. Today we are going up to comfort the rest of the family, and be with them. You held her hand, and gave her kisses when we were up there this past weekend, You made her feel very happy in her last few days. I want you to know about her, and so over the next few days I will be writing to you about her, but for now, I want you to know that she passed quietly, and peacefully. And whatever you grow up believing during the course of your lifetime, I believe she is still with us, and that she will always look after you. Your name, Lucian Wit, means "light of my life" and while I meant this to mean the light of MY life, you were also the light of hers. I want you to know her as well as you can know someone you have little to no memory of. And know always that from conception on, she loved you, her great-grandson.

I love you! -Mommy-


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!