Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:46 p.m. - 2006-08-04
First Steps!!!!
Dearest Lucian,

Today, is a momentous day in our lives, sweetheart! You took your first steps! Of course, just as Mommy feared, you took them at KinderCare. But when I got you home, I let you play with Pop-pop, and then I fed you your dinner. And then you got down to play, and you were walking like a champ! Naturally, you only take a few steps at a time, but it's more than I had hoped for this early in the game.

This has been a big week for you. Yesterday, you drank from a straw for the first time with purpose. You drank Coke from a straw back in April, but it was only once, and I think it was by accident, cause you haven't done it since. Today, you had whole milk for the first time, and from what they tell me at KiderCare, you like it a lot. Now, you're walking. It's almost as if you've been reading up on what a baby should be doing by his first birthday, and you're trying to get it all in on time.

Speaking of which, your first birthday is fast approaching. I'm stoked for it, but I'm a little scared, too. I can hardly believe that you're growing up. I know, I know. It had to happen, babies don't stay babies forever. But what can I do? I have grown accustomed to taking care of you, to holding you in my arms, to waking up with you at night, and letting you fall back asleep in my arms. Now, that's all going to change. Soon, you'll be walking everywhere, and talking, and then... I guess you'll learn to sleep through the night. I won't know what to do with myself. I'm gonna miss the baby Lucian, but I'm looking forward to getting to know the child Lucian. I know that whatever kind of boy you grow into, I'm gonna love it. I'll love every minute of this stage, just as I have loved every moment of the baby stage. But it's scary, you know?

I love you, baby.

Mommy.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!