Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:10 a.m. - 2006-09-07
a whole year???
Dearest Lucian,

Your first birthday has passed, and I still haven't written the mandatory mommy-blog-reminiscent entry where I tell you all the changes I've gone through with you, and the changes you've gone through with me, and how wonderful and special this first year as your mother has been to me. And to be honest, I've been trying to figure out what I should say here. I'm not very poetic, and I'm not good at expressing deep emotion. I can't hardly believe that it has been a whole year! It seems like only a few weeks ago I was scolding you for breaking your promise to stay 6lbs. You broke that promise quickly, and have been pushing my patience with this growing stuff ever since. And yet, even though you have grown so much in 12 months, you are still my tiny love. You crack me up, regularly. When you are happy and want others to share in your happiness, you will look right at them, and start laughing. Your laughter, much like your great-grandmother's, is infectious. I can't stay grumpy, or mad when you laugh at me. You got a few toys at your birthday party that really out do the rest, even though you seem to try to give equal play time to all of them. You got an Elmo kereoke machine that you play with in the car. It's so much fun to clap my hands with you when you play "if you're happy and you know it," which you should know is your pop-pop's favorite song. It started as the only kid song I could remember, and he just picked up on that and took off. The kereoke machine also has an applause button which you seem to use appropriately to display your own joy.

At home, your favorite toy is the learning food table. I don't know what it's really called, but it has a slice of pizza, a bowl of alphabet soup, cookies, salt and pepper, and a cup of juice. I brought the table with us to a barbecue the other day, and even you don't like walking, or crawling on grass, you walked right over to the table to play. Of course once you got there, you decided you really didn't like the grass on your feet, so you climbed up on to the table and stayed on top of it while you played. I don't think I've ever had so much fun just sitting and watching you figure out how to keep yourself amused.

When it's bedtime, you have a plush elephant that sings and plays soft music. That elephant has been a life saver. You used to cry until you fell asleep, now, you start to cry, until you see your elephant, and then you sit happily playing with him until you finally pass out. Last night, you woke up a few times in the night (which you haven't done in almost two weeks now, I'm so proud) and while you let out an initial cry of surprise at being awake, you immediately played with your elephant until you fell back asleep.

I know this was supposed to be an entry of how the past year has changed each of us, but I thought that's what this whole journal has been doing. Like I said, I'm not very good at that sort of thing. And our year has been VERY eventful. So much has happened between Mark, Jeff, and Pete. Living in Blackwood, Lindenwold, Mt. Holly, and Mt. Laurel. Losing my job at EMC, being unemployed for nearly 7 months, then finding this wonderful job at the hospital. Wrecking the Taurus, buying the LandRover. You've learned to roll over, crawl, walk, and climb. You've grown 6 teeth, you've learned a few simple words, like mom, daddy, Pop-pop, mom-mom. You've grown sometimes at alarming rates, and sometimes it seems like you refuse to get any bigger. You've been the perfect baby. No one could ask for a better boy. You are playful and patient. You eat anything I set before you, and you eat to your fill. You only get cranky when you're sick, or teething. You're not a sickly child, so I don't have to rush you to th doctor's office often. You're absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to see what's in store for us this year.

I am at the office writing this (it seems the only time I can sit and gather my thoughts for extended periods of time) and it's about time i log out and get some breakfast.

I love you, so very, very much.
I can hardly wait to pick you up from KinderCare.

Love,

Mommy


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!