Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:12 a.m. - 2006-11-01
Happy Halloween 2006
My little elephant,

You were so good, and so cute for Halloween yesterday! On Sunday you won third prize in a halloween costume contest for the kiddies in our town. And yesterday you went trick-or-treating with so many different groups of people, and it was the most adorable evening spent with you this week. I would say ever, but there have been so many wonderful evenings, it's hard to rank them. You were dressed as an elephant, and you were so proud of how cute you looked, you couldn't wait to show off to everybody. Normally getting you to wear a hat, or hood, or anything on your head (you don't even like to get your head wet) is near impossible. You scream as it's being put on, and take it off immediately. Which you tried to do the first time I put your costume on. But once you saw yourself in the mirror, and recognized that you looked like your bedtime toy, you were all smile, and only wanted the hood to come off when you were hot enought to be sweating.

At each door we would come to, I would knock, then you would ball up your tiny fist and knock, and then grab my hand and make me know again. I'm sure each house we went to thought we were impatient, until they saw you standing there clapping, and smiling up at them. I never did get you to say "trick or treat" but you held out your pumpkin bag, and waited patiently for the treats to be dispensed into it.

We went out with your bio-father's parents around to their favorite neighbors' houses, but once we got down the street where you could see the playground, you were no longer interested in candy, adn knocking. You wanted to throw yourself down slides. So we wandered over, and let you play for a bit. Your newest way of going down the slides? Backwards on your tummy. You got a real kick out of the fact that this particular playground had steps you could climb easily, so Mom-mom and I didn't have to strain our backs lifting you to the top of the slides. And I don't think I'll have to worry about you getting stuck in the tubes when you're finally old enough for Chuck-E-Cheese, you went through the one tube like a pro, and the tube slides are your favorite.

Eventually, it was time to move on to Daddy's family, so we said our good-byes, and drove back home where you ate your dinner, and prepared to go out for more door to door soliciting for candy. I was pleased and horrified when you tried to walk into their houses. It was cute to see you comfortable enough to let yourself in, but I had flashes of horror when I thought that you may grow up to be too trusting. All of the neighbors we saw loved your outfit, and a true testimony to how much they love Mom-mom and Pop-pop C. was that they all had bought age approprite candy just for you.

Once we had seen all the family friends, it was off to go out for some "real" trick-or-treating with Mommy's best friend, Jayme, and three of her four girls. The youngest two fight over who gets to be your girlfriend each time we're there. The youngest, who is nearly 2, loves to give you kisses, and hugs, and is always so happy to see you. The next in line, who is five, also loves to give you kisses, but I think she sees you as more of a "little baby" than as serious dating material. Heh.

It was a big day for you and you fell asleep almost as soon as the car started on our way home. Even though you were passed out cold when I layed you in your bed, you still were very cooperative with me when I took your costume off. I love you so much! I can't stop looking at the pictures that Mom-mom took of you at your day-care's costume parade.

Well, Mommy has to get some work done here at the office, so I'll sign off, now. Hugs and Kisses!

Love,

Mommy


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!