Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 a.m. - 2006-05-12
How did I get so lucky?
Dearest Lucian,

You are so wonderful! Yesterday, we went to get you x-rayed to find out if you have large adnoids. You were such a good boy! You were all smiles in the waiting room, until yyou decided that you wanted to nurse. even then, I danced with you to the muzac playing over the speakers, and you happily entertained the other patients. I finally gave in and asked for a private room where I could nurse you, and they put us in a "changing booth" Of course just as soon as we got started, they were finally ready for you. We got into the x-ray room, and you charmed the pants off the doctor... figuratively. Of course, you have never like being made to lie on your back, so there was some screaming while the actual x-ray was done, but as soon as it was over, you were all smiles again. I let us back into the "changing booth" and let you finish your breakfast.

Then we met Pete and went to lunch, where you ate some apricots with other mxed fruit, and made friends with guys at all the surrounding tables. It's amazing that no matter where we go, you always manage to make those around us want to play with you. YOu are always so full of joy, and calm playfulness that everybody wants to make you giggle.

After lunch, Mommy wanted to get her hair done. She has been going around with roots for six months, and her hair had gotten quite long. So I took you with me to the mall. every parenting instinct told me I should not ask you to wait patiently while I got my hair cut and colored, but I laso couldn't stand my hair any longer. So we went. And you know what? You were an ANGEL!!! While I got my hair cut, you sat in your stroller, and played quietly. And then I had to stroller you around the mall for a bit between cut and color, but you went to sleep in my arms, and napped while I had my hair dyed. Everybody at the salon was telling me how sweet you are, and they all told me that this was your gift to me for Mother's Day, which is this Sunday. I'm sure they're right.

We went out to play Texas Hold'em last night. And you ate half your dinner while playing with the toys that Aunt Linda (She's not our Aunt, but she's Pete's Aunt, so I guess that kinda counts... OOOH remind me I have a story to tell you about that.) keeps at her house for just such an occasion. I don't usually let you have toys at the table, but she had them in front of you beforeI had the chance to protest. So you only ate half of your dinner. But I got knocked out of the first game early, so you were able to go and visit with Gramma-Shelly. She fed you thre rest of your dinner, and a bottle. She let you crawl around, and play in your exer-saucer. When I got back to pick you up, you instantly wanted "Ma-ma-ma-ma-ma-ma" Which as far as I can tell, is less about wanting to spend time with me, and more about wanting to nurse. You nearly fell asleep right then. Pete ands I packed you up, and brought you back to his house.

And while you diodn't sleep the entire night through, you did sleep the entire night in your pack'n'play (which is qhat we use as your crib there). I was so proud of you. You only woke up once in the night, you nursed, and went back to sleep. I put you back in the pack'n'play, and you fussed briefly, and then settled in for the rest of the night!

I hope this is indicative that you are getting ready to start sleeping through the night. I've been trying to keep you on a schedule here at home, too. But it's really tough, due to the fact that I still have no job.

Tomorrow si Mt. Holly's Tea and Fairies festival. that's not what they call it, but it's the only name I can ever remember. Your Pa-pa will be playing there, and his girlfriend will be coming down, too. I'm looking forward to meeting her.

Well, I have to log off, now. Your diaper is stinky, and I need to take out the trash before the trash men come.

I love you to itty-bitty pieces,

Mommy

P.S. This Sunday is Mother's Day. It is supposed to be a day in which mom's all over the world, are thanked,a nd appreciated. But I want to make sure I tell you, thank you for being such a fantastic, loving, charming, sweet, beautiful son. I know how blessed I am to have you for my child. And I hope you always know that I appreciate you, and love you dearly.


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!