Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:31 p.m. - 2006-02-24
untitled
Dearest Lucian,

Pete bought you your walker toy. I put it together for you yesterday. Today, I put you in it to play, and you were fascinated with it. You seem to like the piano section of it best, although who could blame you? It is by far my favorite part, too. It lights up, makes noise, and plays music you can dance to. The rest of the toy has cause and effect toys, which spin, and pop up and twirl, and all kinds of fun things. I'm sure as you get stronger, you'll become more interested in those. It has a magana-doodle, which I think I told you about in the last letter. You're totally not interested in that, yet. but you will be. The activity table also has a snack tray, so I put cheerios in the tray. I have handed you a few, one at a time, and while you eat them successfully, you have not yet learned to pick them up and feed them to yourself. But in time, I'm sure you will.

I love you so much, son! I am completely enammored by you. I live to look at you. I love to study your growth, your self-education. You are extremely fascinating. Everyday, you are doing new trhings, showing more signs of understanding. Smiling more. Laughing more. Eating more easily. Getting stronger. Keeping yourself occupied longer. I love spending time with you. I love playing with you, testing your new strengths. I love your isses, and your hugs. I love the way you choose who you want to hold you. The way you decide that you want Pete, or mommy, or Grandpa. I love that you could happily spend all day in my arms. However, even though that makes mommy very happy, you will have to start learning how to play without me, once I get a job. You're going to go into day-care, and you will have to learn that you don't get picked up everytime you cry. You will have to come to the understanding that sometimes, you just have to learn to make yourself happy. Life's like that. Sometimes, I have to make myself happy. Sometimes, I am fortunate enough to have others who want to make me happy, and sometimes I am on my own. That's just how it is. Sometimes I'll be here to hold you and play with you, and sometimes I'll be at work, and you'll have to deal with other children, and teachers hwo have to split their attention between you and the other babies.

Right now, you're up taking a nap. You are sleeping in your crib. I wish I could join you. I am in the middle of trying to teach you some separation is good, but I want to grab you and take you into my bed and nap with you.

Actually I thinkI hear you playing in your crib, now. Which is good. It is another sign that you are becoming at least somewhat independant. I'm so happy with you. These letters are pretty easy since I spend all my time talking to you in one way or another.

You're done playing by yourself, now. I have to go.

I love you!
Mommy


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!