Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:09 a.m. - 2006-10-17
My big boy!
My Dearest Lucian,

You've started calling Pete "Daddy." He loves it. And since your biological father can't be bothered to care about you (which is totaly his loss!), I have decided to allow it. I think it's cute, anyway. Pete has been around since you were three months old, and he's loved you since day 1. I'll probably be taking down the pictures on here of your biological father, because quite frankly, it makes me sad to look atthem. Knowing that any kind of sweet words he may have uttered were all lies, and just like his first daughter, he doesn't want to be your father.

But Pete does. Pete and I took you to the park this weekend, where you climbed the jungle gym, and threw yourself head-first down the slide. We threw a red and blue football for you, and you ran to get it each time. You're getting better at the whole running thing. You don't fall in as few steps as you used to. And you've discovered the joy of playing in the grass. It's kind of funny, you know? When you were very small, you had no problem with the grass. I would take you out in the front yard, and let you play in the grass, you'd sit and pull blade after blade. And when you started crawling, you crawled down the small slope to the driveway - your first bump on the head. But then, as you got older, you shied away from the grass. As though it had suddenly become a vile chemical you wanted no part of. Now, slowly, as walking has become less of a challenge, and I have encouraged you to get toys that lay in the grass, you have become braver. Saturday, once you breached the wood barrier of the mulch playground, you took off running through the outfield of the baseball diamond. I could hardly believe it. I guess your sneakers played a pretty big role in that.

You love your shoes, man. Mom-mom bought you a pair of spider-man slippers, and you adore them! You keep bending over to touch the plastic spider-man on the toe. And the flame design Airwalks that Daddy and I bought you are your favorite pair of sneakers. Of course, you love walking so much, that you're happy with any pair of shoes, but if you come across the flame design pair, even if you're already wearing shoes, you want to put those on. I guess we'll have to find some that are equally cool, when you get a little bigger. I wonder how long you'll stay in your shoe size?

Well, I have to run, I'm at work, and it's breakfast time. I love you with all my heart, munchkin! I can hardly wait to get home to see you. It seems everyday, that I go through this heartache while I'm here. I know that if I weren't here I wouldn't be able to provide for you the way I want/need to. But being here is making me miss out on lots and lots of playtime. *Sigh*

Maybe once we move to Florida, we'll have more time to play.

Hugs and Kisses,

Mommy


0 comments

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!